Novels, Novellas, Narratives · Writer's Quotes

A Book Gives Back In 2015

“Let our New Year’s resolution be this: we will be there for one another as fellow members of humanity, in the finest sense of the word.” – Goran Persson

We’re officially halfway through the 20-teens! 😀 Its hard for me to wrap my brain around it since I still think the 90’s were just a few years ago. 😛 Its even harder to believe that we’ll be celebrating the 20’s in 5 years. 😛 Too bad we can’t have a futuristic Roaring Twenties to look forward to (hint hint to the next generation out there). But anyway, I know everyone has resolutions they’ve started, and like every year, I’m no exception. Except this year, my resolution doesn’t have anything to do with exercising, eating healthier, saving money, reducing stress, writing goals, killing less characters, etc. I’ve tried making these types of resolutions (except killing less characters…that’s just never going to happen), and I’ve decided that this year I’m going to #giveback. 🙂 And the great thing about this is that one of my stories is going to be a part of it.

So without further ado, here is how one book is going to #giveback in 2015:

For the 90 day pre-order period that will start hopefully sometime soon for the Kindle version, my share of the proceeds for Under A Melting Sun (which is 70% of the sale) will be donated to the nonprofit organizations Amazon Watch and Cool Earth. The ebooks will be priced at $3.99, so not only are you supporting an indie author by buying their book, you’re donating $2.79 back to the rainforest. That doesn’t seem like a lot, but think of it this way – every little bit helps! And if we get our family and friends involved and a chain reaction occurs, we could really make a difference in helping to support those who are trying to save the rainforest habitat.

passion flower

Now just to clarify, Under A Melting Sun is not a political, economic, or even an environmental story. For those who haven’t read the summary, this book is a historical fiction set in the Amazon rainforest, and it centers on an anthropologist who is becoming disheartened with a tribe he’s researching after realizing that they’re keeping the heart of their culture from him. Only after meeting his comrade’s cousin, Thora, does he learn that what you seek is usually found right in front of you. It’s a story about appreciating life and not taking it for granted, and although the Amazon is merely the backdrop of the story, the impact that it personally left on me while researching it is the reason I want to help contribute to its preservation.

At this point, you’re probably still wondering why I choose to support two organizations instead of just one. While there are a lot of organizations out there making terrific efforts that need our support, here’s why I chose these two:

I’ve been following Amazon Watch and Cool Earth for some time, and I really like how both these organizations try to help the indigenous tribes and the environment, knowing that the two are inseparable. Amazon Watch is actually located not far from my hometown, so I feel especially close to their cause and see them as “local talent.” One of their many contributions consisted of being in the forefront regarding the People’s Climate March that took place in New York City this last September in order to help #KeepTheOilInTheGround.

People's Climate March 2014
Mark Ruffalo, Leonardo Dicaprio, and Edward Norton all rubbed elbows with Amazon Watch’s representatives, which included the lovely Nina Gualinga, a young leader from Sarayaku, Ecuador.

Meanwhile, Cool Earth is stationed in the UK whose projects consists of helping the Amazon tribes and the Congo. I actually didn’t know about them until they started following me on Twitter, but ever since then, I’ve been following along as they have progressed into a very hands-on charity. Although the Amazon was my primary focus for writing Under A Melting Sun, the Congo is the 2nd largest rainforest in the world and also needs our support in protecting it.

So there you have it. 😉 Be sure to keep an eye on not only the progress of this book to know when the specific date will be for this #giveback-a-thon, but also these lovely people who are trying to make a difference in saving our rainforests. As always, keep reading and writing and giving! 😀

9 thoughts on “A Book Gives Back In 2015

  1. This is a great idea, Ashley. I don’t have a Kindle, but if you plan to do the same with Kobo, count me in.
    I too think doing what we can is very important. Yes, it may seem it’s such a small thing it will never make any differece, but I always think if everybody think this – that’s when no difference will ever happen. If everyone makes just a small action, that will become a very big action in the end, and it will make a very big difference.

    I support FAI (Fondazione Ambiente Italia) who works for the natural and artistic/historical enviroment here in Italy, and LPLP (Lakota People Law Project) who tries to prevent Lakota children from being taken from their families.

Leave a Reply

